The Little Things

Standard

“Jesus said, ‘He who is faithful in a very little thing is faithful also in much…’” ~ Luke 16:10 (NASB)

“Make it BIG, Momma!” my two-and-a-half year old shouts. He LOVES balloons and regularly asks me to blow one up for him.  As the balloon stretches, so does his smile.  “Make it BIGGER!”

I like to do things big.

Never half-way, always full-out, I firmly believe anything worth doing is worth doing well.  I’m a classic First-Born, Type-A, Overachiever. The Hostess in me LOVES birthday parties, holiday get-togethers and church events.  Just ask Stevie-P or Momma; they usually get roped-in to helping me.

Hospitality has long been one of my Spiritual Gifts, but sometimes I take it to extremes.  It’s like a giant teddy bear on Valentine’s Day; the bigger I make it the more obvious my love. But God is showing me it’s The Little Things that are the biggest to Him

.…A note of encouragement and a $2 bill

.…Caring for stray animals on a cold night

.…Hand-me-downs

.…A hot shower

.…Balloons for a 2 year old—or a 68 year old.

Nothing big.  Nothing planned.  Just little things that happen to happen.

I’ve been challenged by books and blogs urging me to Do Life Big.  Go the extra mile.  Look for The Need and take bold steps to meet it. And I’ve taken that to heart.  The Lord has even helped me do some of those things and I am thankful.

But I’m realizing, sometimes on my quest to obey and do The Big, I miss the impact of The Little. I get so busy planning and executing The Big, I forget The Little Things matter just as much, maybe even more, because The Little Things happen every day.

My availability for The Little is just as important as my commitment to The Big.

The way I respond to The Little tells more about my heart than the way I host The Big.

I don’t always have to Do Life Big in order to be doing life big. That same little boy is also ecstatic when I wash his Ninja Turtle jammies. Pulling them from a warm heap he smiles, “D’you wash ‘dese for me?! Yay!!! T’anks, Momma!”

It’s The Little Things that prepare my heart for The Big.

God is Big and He is in everything.  The way I love my people, care for animals or open my home and plans, He uses all these Little Things in Big ways. In fact, He rejoices in them, even more than a two-year-old with a balloon and clean jammies.

“Do not despise this small beginning, for the eyes of The Lord rejoice to see the work begin…” ~ Zechariah 4:10 (TLB)

Take a minute and think about some of the things you do every day, even routine tasks.  What Little Things are you overlooking the Big impact of?

❤Jessie

Source: The Little Things

Leave a Reply

