Glow In the Dark

Standard

Halloween is just around the corner, so you know what that means?  It’s Costume Time!

My son is still in superhero-mode so Superman is all he wants to be!  Yesterday I finally found a perfectly chiseled muscle suit in his size and he just HAD to have it.  He strutted that thing all around the store.

Of course, my daughter also loves Superman and has plans for the entire family.  They are as follows:  “Brother is obviously Superman; Dad will be Lex Luther (because he’s got a bald head); Mom will either be Lois Lane or Miss Tessmacher (even though she doesn’t dress very nice); and I will be Super Girl!”

Who knows if all that will come together, but that’s “the plan”.  Wonder where she gets this planning stuff from…?

Anyway, we do enjoy a good costume around this time of year and always try to make Halloween fun.  (If you’re new to this blog, click here to read my thoughts on the whole Halloween hullabaloo.)

As soon as we got home, Superman had to make sure his “muscles fit”.

image

As we opened the package we realized a green glow stick was included.  Like a true kid, my son wanted to open it, like, NOW.  I explained to him that glow sticks only work for a short time and then they’re no good, so if he wants to use it on Halloween night he’s going to have to wait.

You can probably guess how that went over…

Later that night, Stevie-P and I attended a revival at a local church.  The evangelist was phenomenal.  As he spoke, he wore a t-shirt he designed that read, “DUDE! Where’s Your Heart?” with Matthew 6:21 on the back.  He explained how he wanted the shirt to glow in the dark so people could always read it.

Then he made this statement.  “In order for this shirt to glow, it has to be exposed to the light.  In order for us to glow, we have to be exposed to The Light.”

All this talk about glowing got me thinking… Am I a Glow Stick or a Glow Shirt?

This may seem juvenile–HELLO! I’m surrounded by them–but just go with me for a sec.

Some pretty specific things have to happen in order for a glow stick to work.  First, it must be packaged in a special, foil-type paper.  Second, it must be broken or bent in order to glow.  Then, it only lasts 8-12 hours.  Beyond that it really isn’t worth much because all the “juice” is gone.  Sometimes you can freeze it and make it last a bit longer, but overall its glow time is limited.

A glow shirt, on the other hand, lasts much longer.  My son got a glow-in-the-dark skeleton t-shirt last year and even after multiple washings and wearings, it still glows.  He loves to hold it up to a lamp, then put it on and run to a dark closet.  Bringing me along to “watch the bones dance,” he wiggles his arms and belly, giggling all the while.  It’s one of his favorite shirts to wear, proper season or not.

What I realized is this:  I have a choice.  God has saved me and chosen me to live in this moment, during this dark season of humanity, to shine the Light of The Gospel.  But how I shine is up to me.

I can stay all wrapped up in myself, my dreams, my worries, my problems, OR I can open myself up to The Light.

I can wait until I’m broken or bent before I shine, OR I can run to The Light and lay myself before Him.

I can save my “juice” for one brief shining moment, OR I can be replenished by The Light and offered up for repeated use.

The choice is mine, each and every day.

For the next couple of weeks that glow stick will remain in the foil wrapper, awaiting its moment to shine.  I anticipate the green hue to dazzle and the gradual fade to disappoint. But the shirt?

It’s hanging in the closet, ready for a glowing dance in the dark.

~Jessie

You are the light of the world. A city on a hill cannot be hidden. Neither do people light a lamp and put it under a bowl. Instead they put it on its stand, and it gives light to everyone in the house. In the same way, let your light shine before men, that they may see your good deeds and praise your Father in heaven.” ~ Matthew 5:14-16

Leave a Reply

