Let’s Go Fly a Kite

Standard

image

Have you ever tried flying a kite with no wind? That may sound crazy but it’s what my son and I did today.

Last weekend our family watched a local community theater’s performance of “Mary Poppins” and every day since his request has been “Let’s Go Fly a Kite!”

To a preschooler, that song says we can simply go fly a kite anytime we please. Unfortunately, summer winds in east Texas do not lend their self to kite-flying magic.

With the fold of his arms and a stamp of his foot he asks, “Momma! Why can’t we just go outside and Fly. My. Superman kite?!”

Bless his three-year-old heart. His mind simply cannot grasp the concepts of wind speed and aerodynamics. I understand his frustration.

So, since this morning was breezy and we were already outside, I decided to give it a whirl. I figured it would either fly to his delight or he would finally see and understand the importance of the wind.

Although there were several strong gusts, the wind just wasn’t steady enough for a kite.
“Sorry Brother, but it looks like today’s not a good day for flying after all.”

He protested, “Just hold it up higher, Momma!”

Higher it went.

He reasoned, “Try running, Momma! Run faster!”

Faster I went.

He insisted, “Pull the string tighter!”

Tighter and faster and higher I tried, but still no luck. My little guy was full of great ideas, but none of them could take the place of the wind.

Feeling winded myself I gasped, “Baby, we just have to be ready and wait for the wind to blow.”

So we waited for the wind.

And we waited.

And then we waited some more.

Standing there with my arm stretched high, holding tight to the string of the kite, I heard His whisper…

All of your running and stretching is pointless without Me. I am The Wind that sustains you.

You can run faster and pull harder, but all that will do is wear you out. Wait for Me to move instead.

Just as you can hear the wind but can’t tell where it comes from or where it will go next, so it is with the Spirit…” ~John 3:8

Be ready for My breeze; anticipate it. But do not try to replace it. You can’t make Me move just like you can’t make the wind blow. Just be patient and wait.

Clearly, my son wasn’t the only one who needed a lesson on the importance of the wind today.

Gosh, I am so guilty of trying to make things happen. Trying to force the Spirit to move things the direction I think they should go, at the speed I think best.

I protest and reason and insist, but God does things differently.

“But they that wait upon the Lord shall renew their strength. They shall mount up with wings like eagles; they shall run and not be weary; they shall walk and not faint.” ~Isaiah 40:31

Watching his kite plummet again and again, My Boy grew concerned. “What’s wrong with my kite, Momma? Is it broken? I think it’s broken.”

“No Baby, it’s not broken. It just needs the wind.”

Oy vey.

So often I set out to fix things/situations/people that I deem broken with my own well-meaning efforts. In my desire to see them soar I overlook the fact that they don’t need my solutions; they just need The Wind.

Like my three-year old, I must be patient and wait for The Wind even when my foolish mind believes it’s the perfect day for flying. When the time is right, The Wind will do all the work.

I, on the other hand, “can dance on the breeze, over ‘ouses and trees…”

Hmm, that sounds familiar.

Heavenly Father, I know You are both the Maker and Mover of the wind. Please forgive me for trying to fly without You. On the days I’m running and stretching and pulling, slow me down and remind me to wait patiently for Your breeze. In Jesus’ Strong Name I ask this. Amen.

~Jessie

Leave a Reply

