All I Know to Do is Pray

Standard

I’ve watched the news. I’ve seen the images. I’ve heard the arguements.

All I know to do is pray.

I’ve tried other things. I’ve worked for government-funded inner-city programs. I’ve helped high school dropouts finish their education. I’ve driven at-risk teens to job interviews and arranged on-the-job training for gang members. I’ve opened my home, given food and clothes from my closet. All these efforts barely made a dent.

All I know to do is pray.

I’ve made investments and witnessed success stories, watched a handful make progress beyond what my file cabinet could hold. Yet all the funds and mentoring and time only impacted those who decided within themselves to make a change. All the coaching in the world didn’t phase those resigned to remain victims. I could encourage and engage and pursue for eternity but change requires individual effort and fortitude.

All I know to do is pray.

I’ve shared my faith, the basis of my hope and desire to help. I’ve pleaded, begged people to catch even a fraction of a glimpse of the potential I saw, of the plans and hope and future God has for them. But still only those whose hearts were willing had the eyes to see.

All I know to do is pray.

No program, regardless of how funded and supported it may be, can change a heart. Only God can. Only He knows how to work in the mind and life of each soul He has created. Only He can bring about full potential, direct paths and crown success. He is The Author and Administrator of the best grant ever written, The Free Gift of Salvation provided through His Son, Jesus Christ.

Ultimately, all I can really do is pray.

~Jessie

“If My people, who are called by My Name, will humble themselves and pray and seek My Face and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven, and I will forgive their sin and [I] will heal their land.”

~2 Chronicles 7:14

Leave a Reply

