I Don’t Got This

Standard

image

I recently began a study of 1 Peter with IF:Equip.com. If you’ve not heard of this, check it out. Awesome stuff. And it’s not too late to join the study. We will start the Book of 2 Peter tomorrow.

Today is Day 9 of the study and the reading is 1 Peter 5:1-14. This is one of my favorite passages in scripture. In my mind I can still hear my daddy reading the KJV version to our family before we headed out the door every morning. Good times. ❤️

Humble yourselves, therefore, under the mighty hand of God so that at the proper time he may exalt you, casting all your anxieties on him, because he cares for you.” ~1 Peter 5:6-7

While these words have always been a comfort, they have fresh meaning for my life today.

Humbling myself means admitting I can’t Do It All–which is opposite of what the world would say–and then not trying to.

What comes from doing too much? Anxiety.

When I admit I can’t Be and Do all the world says I should and confess my need for God, I automatically find myself casting my anxiety on the Lord. (Amazing!)

It is in that humble place under God’s mighty hand that I’m finally out of His way and give Him room to exalt me–to do something with my life when the time is right.

I realize today I am so far from humble. I may say I can’t Do It All but my actions tell another story.

My Planning and Doing is the way I exalt myself, because let’s be honest–I have no clue when God will do it or what it will look like.

But I do know this–My God is Good. He has plans and hope and a future for me that my mind can’t even conceive. He can be trusted because He cares for me.

So today, I’m seeking to rest under His mighty hand. No “If You Want Something Done Right” thinking. No trying to finagle or figure.

Just admitting–I don’t got this.

~Jessie

http://www.ifequip.com/2891?utm_source=IF+%3A+Equip&utm_campaign=c5c4ccc0d1-Ticket_Registration_9_20_2013&utm_medium=email&utm_term=0_3377dbada0-c5c4ccc0d1-106717193

Leave a Reply

