Groundhog Day Greatness

Standard

A friend of mine sent this to me a few days ago. She knows this to be true because she’s a mom, too.

046As a mom of littles, there’s a lot of redundancy to my life. Like Bill Murray in the movie “Groundhog Day,” I literally do the same things over and over and over–and over–again.

Staples may have an Easy button, but I want a Repeat button. Attachment-1

Make the beds?  Repeat!

Laundry?  Repeat!

Dirty dishes?  Repeat!

Pick up Legos and Barbies?  Repeat!

Life with littles would be so much easier with a Repeat button.

I’m really feeling this today as it’s actually Groundhog Day, but then I read Jesus’ words in Luke 9…

“46 Now came an argument among them as to which of them would be greatest in the coming Kingdom! 47 But Jesus knew their thoughts, so he stood a little child beside him 48 and said to them, “Anyone who takes care of a little child like this is caring for me! And whoever cares for me is caring for God who sent me. Your care for others is the measure of your greatness.”

Caring for little ones is a big deal!

Whether we are working moms or we stay home, taking care of our little people is The Thing that makes us great.

Not how much money we make. Not the car we drive or the house we live in. Jesus said caring for others is the measure of greatness.

Today, I am both challenged and encouraged by this.

Challenged, because I love routine and strive to keep it. But if I’m not careful I find myself running on Auto-Mom, either being annoyed by or completely missing the little things that make life Life.

In those moments of frustration and exhaustion I must remember I’m not just doing all this for my little people, I’m doing it for Jesus, too. The way I speak to them, the attention I give them and my attitude toward them says a lot about who I am and it’s the measuring stick Jesus uses for greatness.

At the same time, I must remember life for little ones is supposed to be repetitive. It’s how they learn best.  When I’m tempted to hit Repeat, I need to remember repetition is a good thing.

The encouraging part is knowing that what I’m doing is important to Jesus and to Him, loving little ones is the greatest job in the world.

040

Regardless of what Things I may do in this life, being Momma is the greatest.

Here’s the most encouraging part. Even if you’re not a mom, you can be great, too. Just love the little ones around you. Care for them. Encourage them. Take time for them like you would for Jesus.

Your investment in a young person is the one that guarantees the greatest return.

So I’m off now to make beds, pick up Legos and do laundry–again.

Oh, and love on my little ones.

Jessie

Leave a Reply

