Memory Makers

Standard

My laptop is out for repair so I’m typing from my phone today. I have no idea what this will look like on your screen but here we go…

I saw a shirt the other day I could relate to.  It read, “It’s not Christmas ’til somebody has a meltdown!”

Ain’t that the truth?!

As a mom, Christmas is both the most wonderful AND chaotic time of the year.

I ABSOLUTELY LOVE CHRISTMAS but the other night I was the blinking bulb that makes all the others go out. My fuse was just about blown

It wasn’t that I was tired, I just had SO MUCH. In every room. And not just Christmas-related stuff.

Laundry. Dishes. Supper. Dirt. Normal Everyday Stuff. Everywhere.

Because as y’all well know, the Everyday Stuff doesn’t stop just because it takes 3 hours to put up one Christmas tree.

Let’s face it, Mommas. We are the Holiday Memory Makers and that is a monumental task.

We set the stage for precious moments to happen.  We clean and deck the halls.  We trim the tree and hem the pants. We buy the Christmas jammies and socks and plan the outfits and bows.

Don’t get me wrong, Dads are irreplaceable.  They lift the heavies and hang the lights. My Stevie-P is one of THE most helpful hubbies a girl could have, but even he agrees.  He doesn’t make Christmas happen.

And I get it.  Don’t overload yourself.  I’ve read all the “stress-free” Christmas blogs and books. I’ve said my “Best Yes” and my gracious No.

But none of that takes away the elbow grease required to accomplish Everything Else by the annual deadline of December 25th. It doesn’t reduce the sheer volume of activities that I cannot decline.

This IS the most wonderful time of the year, but it is also the busiest.

There are class cookies to bake or buy.   Parties to plan or attend.  Programs to watch. There are a myriad of things that simply won’t get done unless I do them.

And they’re all things I want to do.  I love to bake and look forward to this time of year just so I have a reason to bake.  I enjoy planning and hosting parties and I love going to Christmas shows.

The problem is all these Fun Things collide.  They all require my attention and time and effort during the same 4-week block of life.

My daughter has reached the age where even she has things to add to the list.  Places she wants to go. Activities she wants to attend. And that puts this crazy Momma-Pressure on me to drop everything and make all her wishes come true.

How do you say No to a twinkled-eyed seven year old who just wants to look at Christmas lights?

You don’t.

I know there are some of you out there who are Nailing This Christmas, but are any of you feeling like me?  Do any of you feel completely bombarded?  Overwhelmed?  Frazzled?

I know I’m supposed to enjoy the season, not fret or sweat the small stuff, but the other night The Drama Queen put her tiara in place.

So I woke up the next morning and met with The King of Kings.  I asked Him to show me how I’m supposed to do all the things before me.  He whispered “Isaiah 46” to my heart.  So I opened up The Book.

“I have created you and cared for you since you were born…I will carry you along and be your Savior.” ~ Isaiah 46:3b,4b

Talk about a big job. God the Father created me and has cared for me my entire life. Through every season. He understands my load and promises to carry it and me.

“With what in all of heaven and earth do I compare?  Whom can you find who equals me?” ~ Isaiah 46:5

On the days I wish I were an octopus, the Holy Spirit is my other 6 arms.  God not only gives wisdom to plan my schedule but He also gives me the energy to get It All done.

For I am offering you My deliverance; not in the distant future, but right now!  I am ready to save you…” ~ Isaiah 46:13a

God is ready to save me from the Crazy and redeem the Precious.  Right now.  This Moment.  This Season.  During this 4-weeks of Everything.

But I have to accept His offer.  Moment by moment, as many times as necessary, I have to STOP and choose to let God save me.  Ask Him to carry me.

“For Jehovah created the heavens and earth and put everything in place, and He made the world to be lived in, not to be an empty chaos.” ~  Isaiah 45:18

As many times a day as I put Everything back in its Place, God does it for the entire universe.  As much as I seek to make my home a peaceful place to be lived in, He is doing that for the whole world.

There is no stress or burden I feel that God does not understand.  He totally gets what it’s like to live in my reality–and then some.

The ultimate reality is this:  God is the Memory Maker because He is The Maker of Everything.

I can relax and trust Him.  I can STOP, like I finally did that night, and watch a Christmas movie.  He will be there in the morning to help with whatever tasks I have to accomplish.

As a matter of fact, He will be there all night because God never sleeps.  He never tires.  His arms never weary from carrying me too much.

“The most vivid memories of Christmases past are usually not of gifts given or received, but of the spirit of love, the special warmth of Christmas worship, the cherished little habits of the home.” ~ Lois Rand

That is what I want my family to remember.  Love.  Worship. Home.

And I can trust God, the Best Memory Maker of All, to make it happen.

Lord, please be near me today as I go about my work. Show me you are here helping me. Keep me from getting wrapped up in choas but rather, wrap me in Your arms. Keep Your Light burning in me, that I may glorify You in all things. In Jesus’ name I pray. Amen.

Jessie

One response »

  1. Jessie every time I read your blog I always hear exactly what I need to hear at that moment in time! I am so happy that you do this I love reading your blog! I’m gonna really miss you!

Leave a Reply

