Music in My Head

Standard

photo(3)I Love Music.  It gets stuck in my head and seeps its way to my heart.  It speaks to me like nothing else can and sometimes, when nothing else will.

I have two songs in my head this morning that have overwhelmingly struck me with two thoughts:  God’s faithfulness and my trust.

There is so much happening in the world today, even in my own friends’ and family’s lives.  But no matter what we are facing, dealing with or going through, as believers we all have one thing in common–God is with us.

Whether we’re high on the mountain or low in the valley, our God wants more of us, to be intimate with us.  He wants to lead us to That Place, wherever it is, where we truly trust in Him; not ourselves or our abilities or our plans, just Him.

He wants to lead us to That Place where our trust in Him is without borders, where He is allowed outside of the box we put Him in because He is Big and our box is not. 

He wants to take us higher and deeper than our own feet would ever dare take us, into His very presence.

That’s where He wants us–with Him.

One way or another, I know God will get me There.  What I don’t know is How.

How will I get to That Place?  Will I get to go by choice?  Peter willingly got out of the boat and walked on water toward Jesus.  Will I?  Or will I be forced out?  Will my boat capsize, forcing me into the depths of the Oceans, shouting for salvation; for a rescuer to pull me out and into the safety of his presence?

Though I do not know the How or When, I do know the Why and Who.

So my faith will be made stronger in the presence of my Savior.

God is Faithful.  He is Able.  He is Sure.  I can trust Him implicitly with my eternity AND with my life on this Monday morning.  My money.  My bills.  My marriage.  My kids.  My health.  He can handle it all.

Friends, God is constantly drawing us to Himself, passionately pursuing us.  He is relentless in His quest for our whole heart and He will not stop until He has it.  He loves us that much.

He will allow me to experience whatever it takes for me to finally get to That Place and back again, as I’m sure to wander.

Sometimes He will lead me to the Red Sea, to a dead end where He is my only Help.

He may take me to the top of the mountain where He is the only One who can send the fire.

He may call me out upon the water where He is the only One who can make me stand.

But no matter where He leads, I know I am not alone.  He is there in it all, wanting my attention–my heart--as a lover desires the affection of their beloved.  Surely “I am my Beloved’s and He is mine.”

I can trust Him and His intentions for me no matter what Place I’m standing in today.  Never once will He leave us on our own.

Take a second and listen to these songs.  Let the words steep and speak to that tender spot in your heart.

If you’re sinking, look up and shout His Name.

If you’re facing the Red Sea, raise your arms and expect a miracle.

If you’re on a mountain, whisper a prayer and wait for the fire.

You are faithful, God, You are faithful…

Jessie

“Then The Lord came down in the cloud and stood there WITH him and proclaimed His Name, The Lord.  And He passed in front of Moses, proclaiming, ‘The Lord, The Lord, the compassionate and gracious God, slow to anger, abounding in love and faithfulness…'” ~ Exodus 34:5-6

Click Here to listen to “Oceans” by Hillsong United.

Click Here to listen to “Never Once” by Matt Redman

One response »

  1. Pingback: Just Obey | notmyownblog

Leave a Reply

