Laundry Day

Standard

“Cleanse me with hyssop, and I will be clean; wash me, and I will be whiter than snow.”  Psalm 51:7

Sooooo, this is a blog about Real Life because, well, I live a very real life.

As the COO of our family, I’m charged with The Dirty Work of running a home.  I do dishes and laundry Every.Single.Day.  In fact, I am currently surrounded by exactly 5 loads of laundry—and I did 4 loads yesterday.

A few minutes ago my washer did the Out-of-Balance Two-Step. You know the dance it does when the load gets off balance?

The entire machine wobbled and shimmied across the floor, making a loud, hard to ignore racket. To make it stop, I opened up the lid and rearranged the load. And then I had a thought…

Sometimes, that’s me.

In an attempt to Do It All, I often overload my calendar. In no time my priorities get out of balance and I begin to wobble and shimmy through everything. I make a lot of racket and my head and home feel like they’re in a spin cycle.

I get lost in The Wash and forget to soak in the goodness of it all. I am agitated by the little things and treat my delicate loved-ones roughly.

My load is heavy and I become hard pressed by it all. I forget this cycle won’t last forever; that before I know it, everything will be rinsed and a new fresh life cycle will begin.

It is so hard to stay balanced.  How do I keep my basket from getting too full?

First, I have to air out my dirty laundry before The Lord. I must confess that I’ve stretched myself too thin and I, in fact, cannot Do It All.

When I do this, He promises to “wash away all iniquity and cleanse me from my sin,” leaving me “whiter than snow.”  He gives me “a clean heart” and “[renews] a steadfast spirit within me” so I can sort through all The Piles I’m faced with (Psalm 51:2,7,10)

Then, just like my daily wash routine, I have to refresh my mind with His word daily.  His presence softens my spirit and His gentle touch restores my soul. (Hebrews 10:22)

I also have to open up and allow Him to rearrange my load, maybe even take some things out and make it lighter. That means I let go of things. I handle my time with care by graciously saying No to overload.

Ultimately, I know I can trust The Lord to make my path straight and iron out all the details.

He’s the one who knit me together in the first place.

Jessie

“Let us draw near to God with a sincere heart and with the full assurance that faith brings, having our hearts sprinkled to cleanse us from a guilty conscience and having our bodies washed with pure water.”

~ Hebrews 10:22

Leave a Reply

