Do-Over!

Standard

Well friends, I need a favor.  I need you to grant me a Do-Over or a Mulligan, if you will.  Because frankly, my last post just stunk.  It did.  I’ve read and re-read it probably a hundred times now and The Spirit inside me just won’t let it go.  I wrote the rough draft several weeks ago and on Sunday, realized I never posted it.  I hastily revised and published it without the careful consideration I usually employ.  Sadly, it turned into a Jessie-Fest, which is something I’ve really tried to avoid in my writing, plus some of my grammar was just not up to par.  

I want to be subjective, stay on topic and promote Scripture—not myself or anything I’ve done.  I mean, seriously, I feel like I did the exact thing I just wrote about NOT doing in the previous post.  I rambled and just let words flow, ignoring my own advice about how “the wise measure their words.”  Technically, I wrote One Day At a Time before I wrote The Great Adventure, before I had the realization about how much our written words matter.  As I made those quick revisions, I totally overlooked the words I had used and the way in which they could be construed.  I goofed and I’m so sorry.

I “Petered” out.  You know, Peter, Jesus’ disciple?  Yeah, he had a bad case of Foot-In-Mouth Disease.  Like in Matthew 16, when Jesus asked,’Who do you think I am?’ Simon Peter replied, ‘The Christ, the Messiah, the Son of the living God.’”  (Matt. 16:15-16)

Of course, Peter was right.  And Jesus was so pleased with Peter’s answer, He called him “blessed” and told him The Church would be built upon this teaching (Matt. 16:17-19).  Oh, but just a few verses later…

Open mouth.  Insert foot.

Jesus calls Peter “Satan.”

Yep.  Jesus was telling the guys how He would suffer and die and then come back to life, but Peter apparently thought he knew better.  “But Peter took Him aside to remonstrate with Him.” (vs. 22)  Okay, stop right there.  I looked up the definition of “remonstrate” and found this: to make a forcefully reproachful protest.  So basically, Peter took Jesus, the One he just said was “The Christ, the Messiah, the Son of the Living God,” and began to tell Him His business!

Jesus, a bit ticked I do believe, “turned on Peter and said, ‘Get away from me, you Satan! You are a dangerous trap to Me. You are thinking merely from a human point of view, and not from God’s.’” (vs. 23)

Ouch.  You think Peter felt foolish?  Embarrassed?  Humbled?  How could he not?!

But it gets better.  Peter then went on to deny Jesus–three different times–after, of course, swearing he would never do such a thing (Matthew 26:31-35; 69-75). 

Ohhhh, Peter.  I so feel your pain.

Like Peter, I feel foolish.  I did something I said I wouldn’t and I can’t take it back.  I could edit the post, or delete it altogether, but then I’d just be trying to cover up my mistake.  Rather, I want to confess what I did and ask for forgiveness, as 1 John 1:9 encourages.  I’ve asked The Lord to forgive me and I know He has.  To any of you who I may have offended or made feel “like crap,” I offer my sincerest apologies and ask for another chance at being your friendly neighborhood blogger.  Please, don’t tune me out.  I’m a real person and I mess up All. The. Time. (Obviously.)  This is the danger I speak of when I say blogging is scary for me.  While I can’t promise I won’t mess up again, at least you know I’m willing to own it. I pray you can identify with me; surely Peter and I aren’t the only ones with Foot-In-Mouth Disease.  

Now if you’ll excuse me, there’s a slice of Humble Pie I need to finish.

Sincerely,

Jessie

Leave a Reply

