A Toddler, A Tree and A Puppy: Do You See What I See?

Standard

Anyone who’s ever tried to decorate for Christmas while surrounded by little people will totally get today’s post. And by little people, I don’t mean elves. 

First, let me say that Christmas is The Most Amazing Time of year to spend with children.  I treasure the way my babies’ eyes twinkle when they see lights shining in the night; the excitement in their voices as they talk about Santa; the sheer joy on their faces as they rip into gifts on Christmas morning.  It truly saddens me to know these moments will soon be but memories; however, if I’m gonna be honest and real, like you know I tend to be…

I also look forward to the day when my Christmas tree will no longer stand as a tower of temptation which I must keep watch over, 24-hours a day.  Anyone know what I mean?  Between the 20-month old boy and the 6-month-old-50-lb puppy, we’ve had quite the time around the Prestridge household lately.  I feel like I could be in a K-Mart commercial, giffing out.  “No touch, please.”  “Dog! Drop it!”  “The ornaments aren’t balls.”  (Well, some of them are balls, but not the kind used to play fetch with the puppy.)  And then there’s the repetitive, incessant convos with the 6-year-old girl who just knows just EXACTLY where everything ought to go and thinks she should be the one to put it there.  I have no idea where she gets this from.

I’ll spare you all the cherished details and cut to the chase.  As we decorated the tree–and by “we” I mean ALL of us; the daddy, the babies, the dogs, the cat–a song occurred to me, “Do You See What I See”, but not the version you’re familiar with.  This is my rendition of the song, based on my experiences over the past few days and the Truth that I know in my heart.  Maybe you can sing along…

 

Do You See What I See?

Said the mother to the little girl, do you see what I see?

In the living room, little girl, do you see what I see?

A star, a star, leaning to the left on a tree that’s not finished yet,

On a tree that’s not finished yet.

 

Said the mother to the daddy dear, do you hear what I hear?

Coming down the hall, Daddy Dear, do you hear what I hear?

Your dog, your dog, chewing in the night on my ornaments shining bright,

On my ornaments shining bright.

 

Said the mother to the little boy, listen to what I say.

Our Christmas tree, it is not your toy.

Listen to what I say.

 

This house is a mess and we’re expecting guests,

Now it’s time to go and get dressed.

Yes, we must all try to look our best.

 

Said The Savior to the family, do you know what I know?

Christmas is about other things. 

Do you know what I know?

 

Christmas is the day I left heaven above

To show you the truth of God’s love,

To show you the truth of God’s love.

 

Said the family to The Father, Dear,

Forgive us now as we pray.

We offer You our thanks and our praise.

Forgive us now as we pray.

 

The star, the tree, they all are meant for Thee,

To celebrate the birth of The King!

To celebrate the birth of The King!

 

Merry Christmas, friends.

Jessie

“We have seen and testify that The Father has sent His Son to be the Savior of the world.” ~1 John 4:14

 

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: I’m a sap for tree jokes | crumbsoffthetable

Leave a Reply

